Excellence in Mentoring Awards

Nomination Period for the 2016 – 2017 Excellence in Mentoring Awards is now closed.
We will announce the recipients in Spring 2017 on our website.

Please save the date
2016 –2017 Excellence in Mentoring Awards Ceremony
Monday, May 8, 2017 from 4:00 – 6:00 pm

Carl W. Walter Amphitheater, TMEC, Harvard Medical School
Reception will follow and all are welcome.


About the Awards

The Excellence in Mentoring Awards were established to recognize the value of quality mentoring relationships and the impact they have on professional development and career advancement in basic/clinical medicine, research, teaching, and administration. Excellence in mentoring is recognized with the following Harvard Medical School awards:


William Silen Lifetime Achievement in Mentoring Award

Frederick W. Alt, PhD, Charles A. Janeway Professor of Pediatrics, Professor of Genetics, BCH
Patricia D’Amore, PhD, MBA, Charles L. Schepens Professor of Ophthalmology, SERI
James M. Perrin, MD, Professor of Pediatrics, MGH

A. Clifford Barger Excellence in Mentoring Award

Mark J. Albanese, MD, Assistant Professor of Psychiatry, CHA
Mary L. Bouxsein, PhD, Associate Professor of Orthopedic Surgery, BIDMC
Roger B. Davis, ScD, Associate Professor of Medicine (Biostatistics), BIDMC
Kathryn M. Rexrode, MD, MPH, Associate Professor of Medicine, BWH
Matthew K. Waldor, MD, PhD, Edward H. Kass Professor of Medicine, BWH
Rochelle P. Walensky, MD, MPH, Professor of Medicine, MGH
James E. Zuckerman, MD, Assistant Professor of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Biology, BWH

Young Mentor Award

Joseph F. Arboleda-Velasquez, MD, PhD, Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology, SERI
Andrea L. Ciaranello, MD, MPH, Assistant Professor of Medicine, MGH
Aaron S. Kesselheim, MD, JD, MPH, Associate Professor of Medicine, BWH
Daniel G. MacArthur, PhD, Assistant Professor of Medicine, MGH
Francisco J. Quintana, PhD, Associate Professor of Neurology, BWH
Brittany A. Seymour, DDS, MPH, Assistant Professor of Oral Health Policy and Epidemiology, HSDM
Sara L. Toomey, MD, MPhil, MPH, MSc, Assistant Professor of Pediatrics, BCH
Alexander C. Tsai, MD, PhD, Assistant Professor Psychiatry, MGH


In the News

Five BWH individuals were awarded 2016 Excellence in Mentoring Awards from Harvard Medical School: Kathryn Rexrode, MD, MPH, of the Division of Preventive Medicine; Matthew Waldor, MD, PhD, of the Division of Infectious Diseases; James Zuckerman, MD, of the Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Biology; Aaron S. Kesselheim, MD, JD, MPH, of the Division of Pharmacoepidemiology and Pharmacoeconomics; and Francisco J. Quintana, PhD, of the Ann Romney Center for Neurologic Diseases at BWH.
Brigham and Women's Hospital News,  July 5, 2016

CHA Psychiatrist Receives Excellence in Mentoring Award from Harvard Medical School - CHA Cambridge Health Alliance News, June 6, 2016

Honoring Mentors: HMS celebrates dedication to students, residents and trainees - HMS News, June 3, 2016

Nomination Guidelines

Click here for nomination guidelines.

Frequently Asked Questions

Please click here for frequently asked questions about the Excellence in Mentoring Awards.

For more information, please contact:

Email: dicp_mentoringaward@hms.harvard.edu

Ellen McCarthy, PhD, MPH                                                        Pinar Kilicci-Kret
Associate Professor of Medicine                                             Program Manager
Assistant Dean for Development and Diversity                    Career Development
Tel: 617-432-7212                                                                      Tel: 617-432-1083


Photos by Jeff Thiebauth unless otherwise noted.