Dean’s Community Service Award

The nomination period for the 2017 DEAN'S COMMUNITY SERVICE AWARDS is now ended.
The recipients will be announced here in by May 1st, 2017.

About the Award

Community service is an integral part of the missions of Harvard Medical School and Harvard School of Dental Medicine. In faithfulness to this commitment, the Dean’s Community Service Award was established in 1999 to recognize individuals whose dedication and commitment to community service have made a positive impact on the local, national, or international community.

Since the inception of the Dean’s Community Service Award, Harvard Medical School has recognized the contributions of 92 individuals and donated $1,000 to 87 organizations that serve our community. Ten faculty members have been honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award for Community Service.

2016 Dean's Community Service Award Recipients

Lifetime Achievement Award

Harland S. Winter, MD
Associate Professor of Pediatrics, MGH
Camp Jabberwocky


Allen D. Hamdan, MD
Associate Professor of Surgery, BIDMC
Committee for Social Responsibility

Lipi Roy, MD, MPH
Instructor in Medicine, MGH
Boston Health Care for the Homeless Program


Lucy Marcil, MD, MPH
Pediatrics Resident, BCH

Lindsay N. Ramey, MD
Clinical Fellow in Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Spaulding
Commission for Persons with Disabilities


Hugo Arellano-Santoyo
BBS/DMS 2016
Clubes de Ciencia

Tamara Rodriquez Reichberg
HMS 2018
Chronic Care Clinic at Nashua Street Jail

Jie Sun
HSDM 2017
Academy of Medical & Public Health Services


Noel Peters, MSc
Director of Research Operations for the Harvard Program in Therapeutic Sciences, HMS    
SoulMates- Dana Farber Cancer Institute


In the News:

Communities Served

Harvard Medical School donated $1,000 to support each of the community organizations listed here.

Award Information

The advisory committee for the Community Service Award will review the nominations and select at least one recipient for each of the four categories:

  • faculty member (instructor through professor)
  • trainee (house officers, post-doctoral fellows)
  • staff member
  • student

Harvard Medical School donates $1,000 to the organizations served by award recipients.

Nomination Guidelines

The nomination period for the 2017 DEAN'S COMMUNITY SERVICE AWARDS is now ended.
The recipients will be announced here in by May 1st, 2017

All nominations must be submitted online. We encourage you to nominate someone, whose commitment to and service in the community has made a positive impact on the lives of people locally, nationally or internationally. Self-nominations are accepted.

EXAMPLES of the types of involvement that the committee will consider may include, but are not limited to:

  • Service with an established community service organization or faith community that goes beyond what the agency considers to be as work of routine volunteer;
  • Creative effort to develop and/or sustain a new program within an existing service agency;
  • An overall commitment to service as shown by duration of involvement in one or more programs;
  • Development of a one-time service effort, such as an annual event or a disaster relief effort;
  • Helping to found a new independent service or program.

Eligibility Criteria for Each Award Category: 

Each nominee must meet one of the criteria below:

  • Faculty (instructor through professor) must be based at HMS/HSDM or any HMS-affiliated hospital or institution
  • Trainee must be a house officer, clinical, research or post-doctoral fellow based at HMS/HSDM or HMS-affiliated hospital or institution
  • Student must be enrolled at HMS/HSDM or under the HMS Division of Medical Sciences
  • Staff must work directly for HMS or HSDM (i.e., must receive a Harvard paycheck)

Frequently Asked Questions

Please click here for frequently asked questions about the Dean's Community Service Award.

For more information please contact:


Ellen McCarthy, PhD, MPH                                                     Pinar Kilicci-Kret
Associate Professor of Medicine & Epidemiology                Program Manager
Assistant Dean for Development and Diversity                    Career Development
Tel: 617-432-7212                                                                      Tel: 617-432-1083



Photos by Jeff Thiebauth unless otherwise noted.